Genetic diagnostics

In particular cases, genetic testing makes sense as part of the prenatal diagnosis. If there are hereditary disorders, if abnormalities are seen in the sonographic diagnosis, or if there is a high need for safety for other reasons, examinations of this kind are possible.

For this purpose, genetic material must normally be taken from the unborn child, either by puncturing the placenta (chorionic villus sampling) or by taking a sample of amniotic fluid (amniocentesis). These interventions are carried out at our practice under ultrasound guidance.

In certain cases this invasive diagnosis can be replaced by a special blood test (so-called NIPT, non-invasive prenatal test, e.g. PraenaTest ® or Harmony-Test ®), whereby there is no risk of intervention from the invasive diagnosis.

 

The special consultation about the genetic testing and the whole sample analysis procedure is carried out in the human genetics practice under Dr. Ovens-Raeder at our centre. Thanks to the close coordination of the two establishments, we can offer you comprehensive advice and diagnostics at the highest medical level.

Genetische Diagnostik

In bestimmten Fällen ist eine genetische Abklärung im Rahmen der pränatalen Diagnostik sinnvoll. Wenn familiäre Erbleiden vorliegen, in der sonographischen Diagnostik Auffälligkeiten gesehen werden oder aus anderen Gründen ein hohes Sicherheitsbedürfnis besteht, sind solche Untersuchungen möglich.

Dazu muss in der Regel genetisches Material des ungeborenen Kindes gewonnen werden, entweder durch eine Punktion des Mutterkuchens (Chorionzottenbiopsie) oder eine Fruchtwasserentnahme (Amniozentese). Diese Eingriffe werden in unserer Praxis unter Ultraschallkontrolle durchgeführt.

In bestimmten Fällen kann diese invasive Diagnostik durch einen speziellen Bluttest (sog. NIPT, nicht-invasiver pränataler Test, z.B. PraenaTest ® oder Harmony-Test ®) ersetzt werden, wodurch des Eingriffsrisiko der invasiven Diagnostik entfällt.

 

Die spezielle Beratung zu den genetischen Untersuchungen sowie die gesamte Analyse der Proben wird in der humangenetischen Praxis Dr. Ovens-Raeder in unserem Hause durchgeführt. Durch die enge Abstimmung der beiden Einrichtungen können wir Ihnen eine umfassende Beratung und Diagnostik auf höchstem medizinischen Niveau anbieten.